{
 "AZ": {
  "school": "Arizona's defensive driving program can get an eligible civil traffic violation dismissed: if you complete a class at an Arizona Supreme Court certified school, the school notifies the court and the charge is dismissed from your record. Most drivers can use it once every 24 months, and CDL holders generally cannot.",
  "points": "Arizona tracks points on your MVD record and an accumulation can lead to a licence suspension and/or a mandatory class.",
  "cost": "Phoenix sets the fine on the facts of the case and adds state surcharges and fees. The financial obligation search on the court's own site shows what you actually owe today.",
  "courts": "Most Arizona tickets are civil traffic violations and go to the <b>city or justice court named on the citation</b> — in Phoenix that is Phoenix Municipal Court. Criminal traffic charges (DUI, reckless driving) go to the same court on a criminal docket.",
  "dmv_label": "Arizona MVD - driver licences and driving records",
  "dmv_url": "https://azdot.gov/mvd",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Will a defensive driving course clear an Arizona ticket?",
    "a": "Yes, for an eligible civil traffic violation: complete a class at an Arizona Supreme Court certified school, the school notifies the court, and the charge is dismissed from your record. Most drivers can use it once every 24 months, and CDL holders generally cannot."
   },
   {
    "q": "How do points work in Arizona?",
    "a": "Arizona tracks points on your MVD record, and an accumulation can lead to a licence suspension and a mandatory class. The points come from a conviction, so a dismissal through the defensive driving programme avoids them entirely."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a traffic ticket in Arizona?",
    "a": "The court sets the fine on the facts of the case and adds state surcharges and fees. Look your citation up on the court's own site to see what you actually owe today."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "dismiss",
  "school_short": "Yes &mdash; defensive driving dismisses an eligible civil violation, about once every 24 months."
 },
 "CA": {
  "school": "In California you can usually take traffic school once every 18 months to keep a point off a moving violation, if the violation is eligible. Your court notice says whether you qualify.",
  "points": "A moving violation adds a point to your DMV record, which can raise your insurance for up to 3 years.",
  "cost": "Fines vary by violation and county. Check the court's current bail/fine schedule - the amount on your court notice is the real number.",
  "courts": "A California traffic ticket goes to the <b>Superior Court of the county</b> where you were cited. Each county runs its own traffic division, its own bail schedule and its own traffic-school list. Parking tickets never go to court — the city or its parking authority handles them.",
  "dmv_label": "California DMV - licence and driving record",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Can I take traffic school for a California ticket?",
    "a": "Usually yes, if the violation is eligible: California lets you take a DMV-approved traffic school once every 18 months to keep the point off your record. Your court notice says whether you qualify."
   },
   {
    "q": "How do points work in California?",
    "a": "A moving violation adds a point to your DMV record, and it can raise your insurance for up to three years. Traffic school is how most people avoid the point."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a speeding ticket in California?",
    "a": "Fines vary by violation and by county, and the court adds fees that often exceed the base fine. The amount on your court notice is the real number."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "points",
  "school_short": "Yes &mdash; traffic school keeps the point off your record, once every 18 months."
 },
 "CO": {
  "school": "Colorado does not remove points after a conviction, so there is no course that cleans the record. What exists is a deferral or plea agreement in the case itself, and at the DMV a point-suspension hearing where you can raise mitigating circumstances or ask for a probationary licence.",
  "points": "Colorado suspends an adult driver at 12 points in 12 months; points stay on your record for two years from the offence.",
  "cost": "Denver County Court sets the fine on the facts of the case and adds costs. A photo radar or photo red-light notice carries a set penalty printed on the notice.",
  "courts": "Your ticket goes to the <b>county court</b> for the county where you were cited (Denver County Court inside Denver). A photo radar or red-light notice goes to the court named on that notice.",
  "dmv_label": "Colorado DMV - licence and driving record",
  "dmv_url": "https://dmv.colorado.gov/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Does a course remove points in Colorado?",
    "a": "No. Colorado does not remove points after a conviction, so there is no course that cleans the record. What exists is a deferral or plea agreement in the case itself, and a DMV point-suspension hearing where you can raise mitigating circumstances or ask for a probationary licence."
   },
   {
    "q": "How many points suspend a licence in Colorado?",
    "a": "Colorado suspends an adult driver at 12 points in 12 months. Points stay on your record for two years from the offence."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Colorado ticket?",
    "a": "The county court sets the fine on the facts of the case and adds costs. A photo radar or photo red-light notice, by contrast, carries a set penalty printed on the notice."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "none",
  "school_short": "No &mdash; no course removes points. Ask about a deferral or plea in the case itself."
 },
 "FL": {
  "school": "Florida lets you elect a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course to keep points off your record, generally within 30 days of the citation and once in a 12-month period. That election is the single biggest decision on a Miami moving violation.",
  "points": "Florida adds 3, 4 or 6 points per moving violation and suspends at 12 points in 12 months, 18 in 18, or 24 in 36. Points stay on your record three years.",
  "cost": "Florida's fine comes from the statewide penalty schedule plus county surcharges, printed on your citation. The Clerk of Courts collects it, not a city court.",
  "courts": "Florida traffic infractions are <b>county</b> cases, not city ones: the <b>Clerk of Courts</b> for the county where you were cited collects the fine, takes your school election and sets your hearing. A city police officer can write the ticket, but the Clerk handles it.",
  "dmv_label": "FLHSMV - Florida driver licences and records",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.flhsmv.gov/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Can traffic school keep a Florida ticket off my record?",
    "a": "Yes, if you elect it in time: Florida lets you take a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course instead of paying points — adjudication is withheld and no points are assessed. You generally have 30 days from the citation, once in a 12-month period."
   },
   {
    "q": "How many points suspend a Florida licence?",
    "a": "Florida adds 3, 4 or 6 points per moving violation and suspends at 12 points in 12 months, 18 in 18 months or 24 in 36 months. Points stay on your record three years."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Florida traffic ticket?",
    "a": "The fine comes from a statewide penalty schedule plus county surcharges, and it is printed on your citation. The Clerk of Courts in that county collects it."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "withhold",
  "school_short": "Yes &mdash; elect the 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course within about 30 days."
 },
 "GA": {
  "school": "Georgia has no course that dismisses a ticket. The record-protection tool is a <b>nolo contendere</b> plea: it is reported to DDS and shows on your record, but no points are assessed. You may only use it <b>once every five years</b>, and the judge decides whether to accept it.",
  "points": "Georgia assesses 2-6 points per violation, and 15 points in 24 months suspends your licence - DDS publishes the exact point value for every offence code.",
  "cost": "If your citation is eligible for online payment, the fine appears when you look your case up in the court's Find My Case tool. If it is not, only a judge sets the fine and you have to appear.",
  "courts": "Georgia tickets go to the <b>court named on the citation</b> — usually a municipal court for city-issued tickets, or a state or probate court for county-issued ones. That court, not the DMV, decides the fine.",
  "dmv_label": "Georgia DDS - licence and points",
  "dmv_url": "https://dds.georgia.gov/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Can I take a course to keep a Georgia ticket off my record?",
    "a": "No — Georgia has no ticket-dismissal course. The record-protection tool is a nolo contendere plea: it is reported to DDS and shows on your record, but no points are assessed. You may use it once every five years, and the judge decides whether to accept it."
   },
   {
    "q": "How many points suspend a Georgia licence?",
    "a": "Georgia assesses 2–6 points per violation, and 15 points in 24 months suspends your licence. DDS publishes the exact point value for every offence code."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Georgia traffic ticket?",
    "a": "If your citation is eligible for online payment, the fine appears when you look the case up. If it is not, only a judge sets the fine and you have to appear."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "none",
  "school_short": "No &mdash; the tool is a nolo contendere plea, once every five years."
 },
 "IL": {
  "school": "Illinois uses <b>court supervision</b> rather than traffic school: if you are eligible, the case is diverted on conditions and, if you complete them, is dismissed without a conviction. A Traffic Safety School course is often one of the conditions - Cook County's school runs in class and online, in English, Spanish and Polish.",
  "points": "Illinois reports convictions to the Secretary of State and adds points to your record; supervision means no conviction - which is the whole point of asking for it.",
  "cost": "Illinois sets fines by statute. For the violations that can be settled without a court appearance, the fine plus costs is listed on the back of the ticket. Chicago camera and parking tickets are <b>city administrative</b> tickets, not court tickets.",
  "courts": "Your ticket goes to the <b>Circuit Court of the county</b> where you were cited. In Chicago camera and parking tickets are <b>city administrative</b> tickets handled by the city, not the court — a completely different process.",
  "dmv_label": "Illinois Secretary of State - driver services",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.ilsos.gov/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "What is court supervision in Illinois?",
    "a": "It is Illinois's alternative to traffic school. If you are eligible, the case is diverted on conditions and, when you complete them, is dismissed without a conviction. A Traffic Safety School course is often one of the conditions."
   },
   {
    "q": "Do points go on my record in Illinois?",
    "a": "A conviction is reported to the Secretary of State and adds points. Supervision means no conviction — which is the whole point of asking for it."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is an Illinois traffic ticket?",
    "a": "Fines are set by statute. For violations that can be settled without a court appearance, the fine plus costs is listed on the back of the ticket. Chicago camera and parking tickets are city tickets with their own schedule."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "alternative",
  "school_short": "Not on its own &mdash; ask for court supervision, often with Traffic Safety School attached."
 },
 "IN": {
  "school": "Indiana's BMV-approved defensive driving / driver safety programmes can reduce points and are often accepted by courts in place of a conviction. Which course and whether it helps is decided by the court and the BMV, so ask before you enrol.",
  "points": "Indiana assesses points through the BMV: 14 to 18 points brings a warning letter, 20 points a one-month suspension, and it escalates from there (Indiana Administrative Code, 140 IAC 1). Reckless driving and major offences carry their own penalties.",
  "cost": "Indiana fines come with court costs, and the traffic division collects both. Check the amount on the citation or in MyCase before you pay.",
  "courts": "Indiana traffic cases go to the court for the county where you were cited — in Indianapolis that is the <b>Marion County Traffic Division</b>. You can read the whole case, including the amount due, in <b>MyCase</b> before you decide anything.",
  "dmv_label": "Indiana BMV - licence and points",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.in.gov/bmv/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Can a course reduce points in Indiana?",
    "a": "Indiana's BMV-approved defensive driving and driver safety programmes can reduce points and are often accepted by courts in place of a conviction. Which course and whether it helps is decided by the court and the BMV, so ask before you enrol."
   },
   {
    "q": "How many points suspend an Indiana licence?",
    "a": "Indiana assesses points through the BMV: 14 to 18 points brings a warning letter, 20 points a one-month suspension, and it escalates from there."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is an Indiana traffic ticket?",
    "a": "Fines come with court costs and the traffic division collects both. Check the amount on the citation or in MyCase before you pay."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "points",
  "school_short": "Partly &mdash; BMV-approved defensive driving can reduce points, if the court accepts it."
 },
 "MA": {
  "school": "Massachusetts has no course that dismisses a ticket. What protects you is <b>winning or amending the citation at a hearing</b> - insurance surcharges follow 'responsible' findings, not course credits. Only drivers with three surchargeable events in two years are required to complete the RMV's Driver Retraining Program.",
  "points": "Massachusetts does not use points. Insurers assign <b>SDIP surcharge points</b> after a 'responsible' finding, which raises your premium for years - which is why the hearing matters more than the fine.",
  "cost": "Massachusetts fines are set by statute and printed on the citation. Miss the 20-day window and the RMV adds late and release fees on top of the fine, then suspends your licence if you do not pay within 30 days of the default letter.",
  "courts": "Massachusetts does not put traffic citations through a court first. The <b>Registry of Motor Vehicles</b> is the decision maker: you pay the fine or request a hearing at the RMV, and the RMV collects the fine and applies the insurance surcharge.",
  "dmv_label": "MassDOT / RMV - licences, hearings and surcharges",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.mass.gov/orgs/massachusetts-registry-of-motor-vehicles",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Is there traffic school in Massachusetts?",
    "a": "No course dismisses a ticket. What protects you is winning or amending the citation at an RMV hearing — insurance surcharges follow 'responsible' findings, not course credits. Only drivers with three surchargeable events in two years must complete the RMV's Driver Retraining Program."
   },
   {
    "q": "Does Massachusetts use points?",
    "a": "No. Insurers assign SDIP surcharge points after a 'responsible' finding, and those raise your premium for years — which is why the hearing matters more than the fine."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Massachusetts ticket?",
    "a": "Fines are set by statute and printed on the citation. Miss the 20-day window and the RMV adds late and release fees, then suspends your licence if the balance is still unpaid."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "none",
  "school_short": "No &mdash; the RMV hearing is the tool; insurers follow the 'responsible' finding."
 },
 "MI": {
  "school": "Michigan's real record saver is the Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC), run by the Secretary of State: an eligible driver who completes it avoids the points, and the ticket is not reported to insurance. You may only use it once, the State mails you a notice with a 60-day deadline to enrol, and you are not eligible if you already had more than 2 points when the ticket was issued, if the offence was criminal, if it happened in a commercial vehicle, if the ticket was issued outside Michigan, or if you hold a CDL.",
  "points": "Michigan assesses points on conviction and keeps them for two years from the conviction date. 12 points in two years triggers a Secretary of State driver reexamination, which can end in a restriction, a suspension or a revocation.",
  "cost": "Fines and court costs vary by violation. Check the court's current fine schedule, and treat the amount printed on your court notice as the real number.",
  "courts": "Your ticket goes to the <b>district court</b> for the area where you were cited — the 36th District Court in Detroit. Fines and costs are set by that court; the points and the Basic Driver Improvement Course are handled by the Secretary of State.",
  "dmv_label": "Michigan Secretary of State - licence, points and BDIC",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.michigan.gov/sos",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "What is the Basic Driver Improvement Course in Michigan?",
    "a": "It is Michigan's real record saver: an eligible driver who completes the BDIC avoids the points and the ticket is not reported to insurance. You may use it once, the State mails you a notice with a 60-day deadline to enrol, and you are not eligible if you already had more than 2 points, if the offence was criminal, if it happened in a commercial vehicle, if the ticket came from outside Michigan, or if you hold a CDL."
   },
   {
    "q": "How many points suspend a Michigan licence?",
    "a": "Michigan assesses points on conviction and keeps them two years. 12 points in two years triggers a Secretary of State reexamination, which can end in a restriction, a suspension or a revocation."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Michigan traffic ticket?",
    "a": "Fines and court costs vary by violation. Check the court's current fine schedule, and treat the amount on your court notice as the real number."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "points",
  "school_short": "Yes &mdash; the Basic Driver Improvement Course avoids the points and the insurance report, once only."
 },
 "MN": {
  "school": "Minnesota has no statewide course that removes a ticket. Many district courts do run a violations bureau hearing-officer route where you can ask for a reduction without a trial, and that is usually the cheapest thing to try.",
  "points": "Minnesota has no point system at all. What does bite is insurance, plus the habitual-violator law: four traffic convictions in one year, or five in two years, brings a 30-day suspension (90 days for another conviction inside those windows). Minor speeding - no more than 10 over in a 55, or 5 over in a 60 - is not even recorded on your DPS driving record.",
  "cost": "Minnesota publishes the fine for each violation, and the court adds a surcharge. The notice from the court is the amount that counts.",
  "courts": "A Minnesota ticket goes to the <b>district court</b> in the county where you were cited. Many district courts run a violations bureau with a hearing officer, which is where a reduction is usually negotiated.",
  "dmv_label": "Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services",
  "dmv_url": "https://mn.gov/dvs/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Does Minnesota have traffic school or points?",
    "a": "There is no point system and no statewide course that removes a ticket. Many district courts run a violations bureau hearing-officer route where you can ask for a reduction without a trial, and that is usually the cheapest thing to try."
   },
   {
    "q": "What is the habitual violator law in Minnesota?",
    "a": "Four traffic convictions in one year, or five in two years, brings a 30-day suspension (90 days for another conviction inside those windows). Minor speeding — no more than 10 over in a 55, or 5 over in a 60 — is not even recorded on your DPS driving record."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Minnesota ticket?",
    "a": "Minnesota publishes the fine for each violation and the court adds a surcharge. The notice from the court is the amount that counts."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "none",
  "school_short": "No &mdash; there is no point system; ask for a violations-bureau hearing officer."
 },
 "MO": {
  "school": "Missouri's route is the Driver Improvement Program, a state course aimed at stopping points from reaching your record and at reducing what is already there. Eligibility and the court's willingness vary, so confirm with the court or the Department of Revenue before you pay for it.",
  "points": "Missouri's Department of Revenue sends you an advisory letter at 4 points in 12 months and suspends your driving privilege at 8 or more points in 18 months (30 days the first time, 60 the second, 90 after that). 12 points in 12 months means a one-year revocation. Points fall by a third for each clean year and reach zero after three.",
  "cost": "Kansas City publishes a payable-violations fine schedule and a separate court-costs table. Check your violation against the schedule before you pay, because payable and non-payable cases are treated completely differently.",
  "courts": "Missouri tickets go to the <b>municipal court</b> for city tickets and the <b>circuit court</b> for county tickets (Kansas City Municipal Court inside Kansas City). Almost every case can be looked up in <b>Case.net</b>.",
  "dmv_label": "Missouri Department of Revenue - driver licensing and points",
  "dmv_url": "https://dor.mo.gov/driver-license/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "What is the Driver Improvement Program in Missouri?",
    "a": "It is a state course aimed at stopping points from reaching your record and at reducing what is already there. Eligibility and the court's willingness vary, so confirm with the court or the Department of Revenue before you pay for it."
   },
   {
    "q": "How many points suspend a Missouri licence?",
    "a": "The Department of Revenue sends an advisory letter at 4 points in 12 months and suspends at 8 or more points in 18 months (30 days the first time, 60 the second, 90 after that). 12 points in 12 months means a one-year revocation. Points fall by a third for each clean year and reach zero after three."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Missouri ticket?",
    "a": "Missouri courts publish a payable-violations fine schedule and a separate court-costs table. Check your violation against the schedule first, because payable and non-payable cases are treated completely differently."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "points",
  "school_short": "Yes &mdash; the Driver Improvement Program targets points, but eligibility varies by court."
 },
 "NC": {
  "school": "North Carolina does not use traffic school. The three standard moves are a plea to a lesser speed (generally 9 mph over or less, which avoids insurance points), a plea to Improper Equipment, and a Prayer for Judgment Continued (a PJC, where the court withholds judgment so no points post). The limits and the insurance treatment differ, so confirm what your court will accept.",
  "points": "North Carolina runs two point systems at once, and the insurance one costs far more. Convictions add DMV points (12 points in three years can suspend your licence), while insurers use a separate scale where a single insurance point commonly raises premiums by around 30%.",
  "cost": "North Carolina fines plus court costs, and the costs are often larger than the fine. The court's own notice is the amount that counts.",
  "courts": "North Carolina traffic cases belong to the <b>Clerk of Superior Court</b> in the county where you were cited. Look up and pay through the state's <b>eCourts Portal</b>. Note that the costs usually outweigh the fine.",
  "dmv_label": "NCDMV - licence and driving records",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "What are the options to protect my record in North Carolina?",
    "a": "North Carolina does not use traffic school. The three standard moves are a plea to a lesser speed (generally 9 mph over or less, which avoids insurance points), a plea to Improper Equipment, and a Prayer for Judgment Continued, where the court withholds judgment so no points post. Limits and insurance treatment differ, so confirm what your court will accept."
   },
   {
    "q": "Why is insurance the real risk in North Carolina?",
    "a": "North Carolina runs two point systems at once, and the insurance one costs far more: convictions add DMV points (12 in three years can suspend your licence), while insurers use a separate scale where a single insurance point commonly raises premiums by around 30%."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a North Carolina ticket?",
    "a": "Fines plus court costs — and the costs are often larger than the fine. The court's own notice is the amount that counts."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "none",
  "school_short": "No &mdash; plead to 9 mph over, to Improper Equipment, or for a PJC instead."
 },
 "NV": {
  "school": "Nevada does not dismiss a ticket with a course, but the DMV gives a <b>3-point demerit reduction</b> for a DMV-approved traffic safety course when you have 3-11 active points, generally once every 12 months. A course you take under a court plea agreement does not earn that reduction.",
  "points": "Nevada counts demerit points: 12 or more in a 12-month period can suspend your licence.",
  "cost": "Nevada now splits traffic citations into civil infractions and criminal traffic violations. The fine depends on the violation and is set by the court - the citation shows your response date.",
  "courts": "A Nevada citation goes to the <b>justice court or municipal court named on it</b> — Las Vegas Justice Court for citations in Las Vegas. Nevada now separates civil infractions from criminal traffic violations, and the two follow different routes.",
  "dmv_label": "Nevada DMV - demerit points and records",
  "dmv_url": "https://dmv.nv.gov/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Can a course dismiss a Nevada ticket?",
    "a": "No. Nevada does not dismiss a ticket with a course, but the DMV gives a 3-point demerit reduction for a DMV-approved traffic safety course when you have 3–11 active points, generally once every 12 months. A course taken under a court plea agreement does not earn that reduction."
   },
   {
    "q": "How many demerit points suspend a Nevada licence?",
    "a": "12 or more points in a 12-month period can suspend your licence."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Nevada traffic ticket?",
    "a": "Nevada splits citations into civil infractions and criminal traffic violations, and the court sets the fine on the facts. Your citation shows the response date that matters."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "points",
  "school_short": "No dismissal &mdash; a DMV-approved course cuts 3 demerit points, once a year."
 },
 "NY": {
  "school": "New York has no ticket-dismissal course. It does have the <b>Point &amp; Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP)</b>: completing an approved course reduces by <b>4</b> the number of points used to decide whether to suspend your licence, once in any 18-month period, and gives a <b>10% insurance discount for three years</b> on the liability and collision parts of your premium. It does not remove the violation or conviction from your record.",
  "points": "New York adds points per conviction and can suspend your licence at <b>11 points in 18 months</b>. The DMV's point-reduction course shaves up to 4 points off that calculation but never removes the conviction itself.",
  "cost": "TVB fines come from a statutory schedule for each violation, and a mandatory state surcharge is added on top of every fine. The amount you will owe for a guilty plea is shown before you submit it - the fine schedule and surcharge are what make a New York ticket more expensive than the posted number suggests.",
  "courts": "In New York City (and some upstate areas) tickets go to the DMV's <b>Traffic Violations Bureau</b>, not a local court — no prosecutor, no plea bargaining, just a hearing. Elsewhere in the state it is the local court named on the ticket.",
  "dmv_label": "NY DMV - tickets, points and the PIRP course",
  "dmv_url": "https://dmv.ny.gov/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Does the PIRP course remove a New York ticket?",
    "a": "No. New York has no ticket-dismissal course, but the Point & Insurance Reduction Program reduces by 4 the number of points used to decide whether to suspend your licence, once in any 18-month period, and gives a 10% insurance discount for three years. It does not remove the violation from your record."
   },
   {
    "q": "How many points suspend a New York licence?",
    "a": "New York adds points per conviction and can suspend at 11 points in 18 months. The DMV's course shaves up to 4 points off that calculation but never removes the conviction itself."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a New York ticket?",
    "a": "TVB fines come from a statutory schedule for each violation, and a mandatory state surcharge is added on top of every fine. The amount you will owe for a guilty plea is shown before you submit it."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "points",
  "school_short": "No dismissal &mdash; the PIRP course cuts 4 points off the suspension calculation."
 },
 "OH": {
  "school": "Ohio's record tool is a 2-point credit for completing a BMV-approved remedial driving course. It is a credit against your point total, and it does not delete a ticket unless a court orders it, so confirm what your court and the BMV will accept before you pay for a course.",
  "points": "Ohio assesses points on conviction, and 12 points in two years triggers a 12-point suspension (a class-D suspension that typically runs six months). The BMV can act well before that, and points stay on your record for two years from the conviction.",
  "cost": "Fines and court costs vary by violation. Check the court's current fine schedule, and treat the amount printed on your court notice as the real number.",
  "courts": "Ohio tickets go to the <b>municipal court</b> for the city where you were cited — Franklin County Municipal Court in Columbus, Cleveland Municipal Court in Cleveland. Parking is handled separately, by the city's parking violations bureau.",
  "dmv_label": "Ohio BMV - points and remedial driving courses",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "How do you reduce points in Ohio?",
    "a": "Ohio's record tool is a 2-point credit for completing a BMV-approved remedial driving course. It is a credit against your point total and does not delete a ticket unless a court orders it, so confirm what your court and the BMV will accept before you pay for a course."
   },
   {
    "q": "How many points suspend an Ohio licence?",
    "a": "Ohio assesses points on conviction, and 12 points in two years triggers a 12-point suspension (a class-D suspension that typically runs six months). Points stay on your record for two years from the conviction."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is an Ohio ticket?",
    "a": "Fines and court costs vary by violation, and many courts only show an online payment button once the case is marked payable. Treat the amount printed on your court notice as the real number."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "points",
  "school_short": "Partly &mdash; a BMV remedial driving course credits 2 points against your total."
 },
 "OR": {
  "school": "Oregon has no statewide ticket-dismissal course. Individual courts do offer deferred sentencing or accept a course in exchange for dismissal, so the only reliable answer is the one your court gives you.",
  "points": "Oregon does not use a point system. The DMV keeps your convictions on a driving record, and too many of them can put you into the Driver Improvement Program and cost you your licence, so the record still matters even though there are no points to count.",
  "cost": "Oregon sets fines by statute and the court adds costs. The amount on your citation is the amount you are arguing about.",
  "courts": "Oregon moving violations go to the <b>circuit court</b> for the county (Multnomah County Circuit Court in Portland). Parking tickets are handled by the city that issued them, on a different system.",
  "dmv_label": "Oregon DMV - driving records",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/pages/index.aspx",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Does Oregon have traffic school or points?",
    "a": "There is no statewide ticket-dismissal course and Oregon does not use a point system. Individual courts do offer deferred sentencing or accept a course in exchange for dismissal, so the only reliable answer comes from your court."
   },
   {
    "q": "What is the written-explanation trap in Oregon?",
    "a": "On an Oregon parking citation, sending in your 'written explanation' waives your right to a hearing — you are agreeing to be judged on the papers. If you want to contest it properly, ask for the hearing instead."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is an Oregon ticket?",
    "a": "Oregon sets fines by statute and the court adds costs. The amount on your citation is the amount you are arguing about."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "none",
  "school_short": "No statewide course &mdash; some courts defer sentencing or accept a course."
 },
 "PA": {
  "school": "Pennsylvania has no voluntary course that erases a ticket on your own initiative. The record-saving conversations happen at the Magisterial District Court printed on your citation (or, in Philadelphia, the Municipal Court Traffic Division): ask about a plea to a lesser charge that carries no points, and about PennDOT's Driver Improvement School, which you must attend at 6 points and which removes 2 points on completion.",
  "points": "Paying a Pennsylvania ticket counts as a guilty plea, so the points go on your PennDOT record. PennDOT takes action at 6 points and can suspend your licence at 11, and 3 points come off for every 12 months you drive without a new violation.",
  "cost": "Fines and court costs vary by violation. Check the court's current fine schedule, and treat the amount printed on your court notice as the real number.",
  "courts": "On a Pennsylvania citation, <b>box 1 is the Magisterial District Court number</b> and box 2 is its address — that court, not the city, takes your plea and your payment. In Philadelphia the traffic division of the Municipal Court handles it, and parking, red-light and speed-camera tickets go to the Philadelphia Parking Authority instead.",
  "dmv_label": "PennDOT - points and Driver Improvement School",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.pa.gov/agencies/dmv.html",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "How do points work in Pennsylvania?",
    "a": "Paying a ticket counts as a guilty plea, so the points go on your PennDOT record. PennDOT takes action at 6 points and can suspend at 11, and 3 points come off for every 12 months you drive without a new violation."
   },
   {
    "q": "Can I avoid points in Pennsylvania?",
    "a": "There is no voluntary course that erases a ticket on your own initiative. The conversation happens at the district court on your citation: ask about a plea to a lesser charge that carries no points, and about PennDOT's Driver Improvement School, which you must attend at 6 points and which removes 2 points on completion."
   },
   {
    "q": "Which court handles a Pennsylvania ticket?",
    "a": "Box 1 on your citation is the Magisterial District Court number and box 2 is its address. In Philadelphia it is the Municipal Court Traffic Division, and parking, red-light and speed-camera tickets belong to the Philadelphia Parking Authority."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "points",
  "school_short": "Not on your own &mdash; Driver Improvement School is mandatory at 6 points and removes 2."
 },
 "TN": {
  "school": "Tennessee does let a course help, in two different ways. A court-ordered traffic school can get a citation dismissed if the judge allows it, and separately the Department of Safety will remove up to 5 points from a speeding conviction if you complete an approved 4-hour driver education course. Course providers must send your certificate to the Department within 30 days, so ask the school who files it.",
  "points": "Tennessee's Department of Safety runs a driver-improvement point system: 12 points in 12 months can bring a proposed suspension and a hearing. Points stay on your record for years, and it is the insurance effect that usually costs the most.",
  "cost": "Fines and court costs vary by violation. Check the court's current fine schedule, and treat the amount printed on your court notice as the real number.",
  "courts": "Tennessee tickets go to the court named on the citation. In Nashville, moving violations are handled by the <b>Traffic Violation Bureau</b> of the Davidson County Circuit Court Clerk.",
  "dmv_label": "Tennessee Department of Safety - driver services and points",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.tn.gov/safety/driver-services.html",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Can a course help with a Tennessee ticket?",
    "a": "Yes, in two different ways. A court-ordered traffic school can get a citation dismissed if the judge allows it, and separately the Department of Safety removes up to 5 points from a speeding conviction if you complete an approved 4-hour driver education course. Providers must send your certificate within 30 days, so ask the school who files it."
   },
   {
    "q": "How do points work in Tennessee?",
    "a": "The Department of Safety runs a driver-improvement point system: 12 points in 12 months can bring a proposed suspension and a hearing. It is the insurance effect that usually costs the most."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Tennessee ticket?",
    "a": "Fines and court costs vary by violation. Check the court's current fine schedule, and treat the amount printed on your court notice as the real number."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "dismiss",
  "school_short": "Yes &mdash; a court-ordered school can dismiss, and a 4-hour course removes up to 5 speeding points."
 },
 "TX": {
  "school": "In Texas you can often take a driving safety course to get an eligible ticket dismissed - usually once every 12 months. You must request it by your answer date and pay the court costs plus the state fee.",
  "points": "Texas does not use a points system, but a conviction can still raise your insurance rate.",
  "cost": "Plano publishes its actual fine schedule: speeding 1-10 mph over is $184 and 25 over is $334, with $50 added in a construction zone. See the full table on the court's Offenses and Fines page.",
  "courts": "A Texas ticket goes to the <b>municipal court</b> of the city that issued it or, for citations issued outside city limits, the <b>Justice of the Peace</b> court for the precinct. Most city tickets are handled online through that city's municipal court.",
  "dmv_label": "Texas DPS - driver licences and records",
  "dmv_url": "https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "Can I take a driving safety course for a Texas ticket?",
    "a": "Often yes: Texas lets you take a driving safety course to get an eligible ticket dismissed, usually once every 12 months. You must request it by your answer date and pay the court costs plus the state fee."
   },
   {
    "q": "Does Texas use points?",
    "a": "No. Texas does not use a points system, but a conviction can still raise your insurance rate — which is exactly what a dismissal avoids."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Texas ticket?",
    "a": "Fines vary by violation and by court. Many cities publish their actual fine schedule (Plano lists 1–10 mph over at $184 and 25 over at $334, with $50 added in a construction zone). Confirm the number with the court named on your citation."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "dismiss",
  "school_short": "Yes &mdash; a driving safety course dismisses an eligible ticket, usually once every 12 months."
 },
 "UT": {
  "school": "Utah courts usually offer two record-saving routes instead of a plain fine: Deferred Traffic Prosecution (you pay, stay clean for the deferral period, and the charge is dismissed) and traffic school. Both are court-by-court, so ask your justice court which it runs and whether you qualify.",
  "points": "Utah's Driver License Division assigns points by violation - a red light is 50, following too closely is 60, reckless driving is 80, and speeding runs 35 to 75 - and more than 200 points in three years can suspend your privileges (the threshold is 70 for a driver under 21).",
  "cost": "Utah publishes a uniform fine schedule, and the Justice Court posts it. That schedule - not a third-party estimate - is what your violation costs.",
  "courts": "Utah tickets go to the <b>justice court</b> for the city or county where you were cited — Salt Lake City Justice Court inside Salt Lake City. Justice courts post their own fine schedule and their own deferral and school options.",
  "dmv_label": "Utah Driver License Division - points",
  "dmv_url": "https://dld.utah.gov/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "What is Deferred Traffic Prosecution in Utah?",
    "a": "It is usually the best of Utah's record-saving routes: you pay, stay clean for the deferral period, and the charge is dismissed. Courts also offer traffic school. Both are court-by-court, so ask your justice court which it runs and whether you qualify."
   },
   {
    "q": "How do points work in Utah?",
    "a": "Utah's Driver License Division assigns points by violation — a red light is 50, following too closely is 60, reckless driving is 80, and speeding runs 35 to 75. More than 200 points in three years can suspend your privileges; the threshold is 70 for a driver under 21."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Utah ticket?",
    "a": "Utah publishes a uniform fine schedule and the justice court posts it. That schedule — not a third-party estimate — is what your violation costs."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "dismiss",
  "school_short": "Yes &mdash; traffic school or Deferred Traffic Prosecution, decided court by court."
 },
 "WA": {
  "school": "Washington has no traffic-school dismissal. The equivalent is a <b>deferred finding</b>: the court defers the ticket for up to a year and, if you stay violation-free through the deferral, it never goes on your record. Most drivers get one deferral for a moving and one for a non-moving infraction every seven years.",
  "points": "Washington does not use points. A civil infraction still shows on your DOL record for three years and can affect your insurance - a deferred finding keeps it off, which is the real prize.",
  "cost": "Washington sets a statewide penalty schedule for civil traffic infractions, so the base fine for a given infraction is the same across the state; the amount is printed on the notice along with any local assessments.",
  "courts": "Washington traffic infractions go to the <b>municipal or district court named on the notice</b> — Seattle Municipal Court in Seattle. Infractions are civil, so there is no prosecutor and no points; the court can instead grant a deferred finding.",
  "dmv_label": "Washington DOL - driving records",
  "dmv_url": "https://dol.wa.gov/",
  "faq": [
   {
    "q": "What is a deferred finding in Washington?",
    "a": "It is Washington's equivalent of traffic school: the court defers the ticket for up to a year and, if you stay violation-free through the deferral, it never goes on your record. Most drivers get one deferral for a moving and one for a non-moving infraction every seven years."
   },
   {
    "q": "Does Washington use points?",
    "a": "No. A civil infraction still shows on your DOL record for three years and can affect your insurance — a deferred finding keeps it off, which is the real prize."
   },
   {
    "q": "How much is a Washington ticket?",
    "a": "Washington sets a statewide penalty schedule for civil traffic infractions, so the base fine for a given infraction is the same across the state; the amount is printed on the notice along with any local assessments."
   }
  ],
  "school_tag": "alternative",
  "school_short": "No course &mdash; a deferred finding keeps the infraction off your record instead."
 }
}